Vuelta a Espana: Remi Cavagna seals first Grand Tour win as Primoz Roglic retains lead

Posted 2 years ago by Patrick Munuve | posted in Uncategorized | Post RSS 2.0

Our partners utilize technology, such as cookies, and gather data that is browsing to personalise the information and advertisements exhibited to you and to supply you with the very best online experience.
Please let us know if you agree.
Frenchman Remi Cavagna sealed his very first Grand Tour stage win on a day which featured mid-stage controversy on Friday in the Vuleta a Espana.
He held his pursuers by five seconds and started a solo assault with below 25km of point 19 to go.
Race leader Primoz Roglic was at a wreck that divide the peloton 65km out.
Alejandro Valverde’s Movistar group – against cycling convention – assaulted, but eventually slowed and Roglic managed to rejoin the peloton.
Movistar’s move angered many in the race, together with Spaniard Omar Fraile, who rides remonstrating with Valverde, who is in 2nd place overall.
The Roglic, who kept his lead of two minutes and 50 seconds of jumbo-Visma , eventually ended in 10th position, five seconds behind Cavagna.
The crash watched former world time trial champion Tony Martin, Roglic’s team-mate, driven to leave the race after getting medical attention.
Stage 20 on Saturday – that the penultimate day of this race – is an 190.4km mountain point in Arenas de San Pedro to Plataforma de Gredos.
1. Remi Cavagna (Fra/Deceuninck – Quick-Step) 3hrs 43mins 34secs
2. Sam Bennett (Irl/Bora Hansgrohe) +5secs
3. Zdenek ??tybar (Cze/Deceuninck-Quick-Step) Same moment
4. Philippe Gilbert (Bel/Deceuninck-Quick-Step)
5. Alejandro Valverde (Esp/Movistar Team)
6. Tosh Van der Sande (Bel/Lotto-Soudal)
7. Dylan Teuns (Bel/Bahrain-Merida)
8. Tadej Pogacar (Slo/UAE Emirates)
9. Miguel Angel Lopez (Col/Astana)
10. Primoz Roglic (Slo/Jumbo-Visma)
1. Primoz Roglic (Slo/Jumbo-Visma) 75hrs 0mins 33secs
2. Alejandro Valverde (Esp/Movistar) +2mins 50secs
3. Nairo Quintana (Col/Movistar) +3mins 31secs
4. Miguel ??ngel Lopez (Col/Astana Pro Team) +4mins 17secs
5. Tadej Pogacar (Slo/UAE Emirates) +4mins 49secs
6. Rafal Majka (Pol/Bora Hansgrohe) +7mins 46secs
7. Wilco Kelderman (Ned/Sunweb) +9mins 46secs
8. Carl Fredrik Hagen (Nor/Lotto-Soudal) +11mins 50secs
9. James Knox (GB/Deceuninck-Quick-Step) +13mins 23secs
10. Marc Soler (Esp/Movistar) +21mins 9secs
Tense, belly-laugh funnybizarre, and filled with awwwwww
Road, track, BMX, mountain and more – there are many methods and reasons to start cycling.
Got a significant cycling race? Ensure you make the most of your warm up on this 20-minute guide.

Read more here:

© 2022 Murang'a Teachers Training College – Design and hosting by BigHostAfrica