National League Championship Series

Posted 2 years ago by Patrick Munuve | posted in Uncategorized | Post RSS 2.0

Before 1969, the National League champion (the”pennant winner”) was decided by the very best win-loss record in the end of their regular season. You will find four ad hoc three-game playoff series as a result of ties under this formula (in 1946, 1951, 1959, and 1962). (The American League had to resolve a tie in 1948, however, utilized a single-game playoff.)
A structured postseason show started in 1969, when both the National and American Leagues were broken up into two divisions each, East and West. The two division winners within each league played each other in a best-of-five show to ascertain who would advance to the World Series. In 1985, the format changed to best-of-seven.
The NLCS and ALCS, because the expansion to seven matches, are always played in a 2–3–2 format: games 1, 2, 6, and 7 are played in the stadium of the group that has home field advantage, and matches 3, 4, and 5 have been played in the arena of the group that does not. Home field advantage is given to the team with the better album, with the exception that the group that made the postseason as the Wild Card cannot get home field edge. From 1969 to 1993, home field advantage was alternated between branches each year no matter regular season record and from 1995 to 1997 home field edge was predetermined before the season.
Back in 1981, a divisional show was held due to a split season caused by a players’ strike.
In 1994, the team was restructured into three divisions, with the three division winners and a wild-card team progressing to a best-of-five postseason round, the National League Division Series (NLDS). The winners of the round advance to the best-of-seven NLCS.
The Milwaukee Brewers, an American League team between 1969 and 1997, along with the Houston Astros, also a National League team between 1962 and 2012, would be the sole franchises to play in both the ALCS and NLCS. The Astros will be the only team to have won both an NLCS (2005) and an ALCS (2017). The Astros made four NLCS looks before going to the AL at 2013. Every current National League franchise has emerged in the NLCS.

Read more here:

© 2021 Murang'a Teachers Training College – Design and hosting by BigHostAfrica