Murang'a Teachers Training CollegeElimu ni mwangaza

College Brief

Our Vision

To be a leading centre of excellence in Teacher Education and Human Resource Development in Kenya.

College Mission:

To develop competent and adaptable primary school teachers through effective and efficient training based on contemporary pedagogical skills and practices.

College Motto:

Elimu ni Mwangaza

College core values:

Integrity Soundness of moral character
Team work Ability to work together with complimentary skills, Committed to a common purpose, specific Performance goals, a common working approach and mutual accountability.
Professionalism Commitment to the ideas and ethics of the teaching profession.
Respect Valuing one’s own existence and the existence of others.
Adaptability Maintaining flexibility in dealing with issues arising out of diverse and ever changing demands and expectations.


Principal: Mrs. Ngure P. Kihara

Deputy Principal:

Dean of Curriculum: Mr. Kariuki David Gichuki

Dean of Students: Mrs. Kinyanjui Margaret

Current Board of Governors Members


1. Dr. Mwangi Ngumo – B.O.M Chairman
2. Janet Wangechi Mucheru – B.O.M Vice Chair
3. Mr. David Njuguna Bernard – Member
4. Mrs. Irene M. Kibandi – Member
5. Mrs. Margaret Nyambura Ngoru – Member
6. Susan Wanjiru Mburu – Member
7. Dr. Margaret Mwihaki Ng’ang’a – Member
8. Prof. Kiarie Mwaura – Member
9. Mr. Sammy Chege Gichui – Member
10. Dr. Patrick Karanja Ngugi – Member
11. Eng. Hezekiah Macharia – Member
12. Mr. Washington Mbiruru Kanyingi – Member
13. Mrs. Ngure P. Kihara-  Principal / Secretary B.O.M
14. Mr. James F. K. Chege – Member / Staff Representative


15. Mr. Charles Khayira – County Director of Education, Murang’a.
16. Jane Njage – Sub County Director of Education, Murang’a South.
17. Edith Kariuki – Sub County Director of Education, Marang’a South
18. Hon. Mary W. Njoroge  – MP Maragua Constituency.

Salaries of Staff at Murang’a TTC in KShs

Non Teaching Staff – Basic Salary

From Job Group C (9,960/= ) to Job Group J (24,662)

Teaching Staff – Basic Salary

From Job Group L (43,154/= ) to Job Group Q (118,169)


© 2020 Murang'a Teachers Training College – Design and hosting by BigHostAfrica